*Tour Name: Chiufen Village & Northeast Coast Half Day Tour
*Route: Taipei－Chiufen Village (80 min)－Nanya Rock Formations－Bay of Two Colors (Pass by)－Jinguashi 13 Ruins (Remains of the 13 Levels)－Taipei
The former gold mining village of Chiufen, where a picturesque setting of old homes clinging to steep mountainsides will enchant you. Meander past the cosy tea houses of Chiufen Old Street, a narrow, cobbled street that offers glimpses into the past. Along the way we will stop at several locations where postcard views can be enjoyed, such as the Yin-Yang Sea (Bay of Two Colours).
*Language: in English
*Contact us for latest information & better price! (terms & conditions applied)
- Pick up from central Taipei (13:00-13:30)
- Chiufen Village (80 mins)
- Nanya Rock Formations
- Bay of Two Colors (Pass by)
- Jinguashi 13 Ruins (Remains of the 13 Levels)
- Come back to central Taipei (17:00-17:30)
The villages of Chiufen were once centres of gold mining in Taiwan. The gold is gone, but these quaint old villages, built of closely-packed houses clinging to steep mountainsides, continue to offer enchanting scenery and fascinating glimpses into the lifestyles of the past.
*The Northeast Coast National Scenic Area
The Northeast coast National Scenic Area is located in the northeast corner of Taiwan. The scenic area is noted for its numerous capes and bays backed by green mountains.
*Nanya Rock Formations
The northernmost tourist site in the scenic area, Nanya is noted for its fantastic rock formations and sea-eroded coral shore. The entire coastline here is a veritable sculpture garden that illustrates, in stone, the incomparable artistry of weathering and wave action. The patterned stone topography of Nanya, unique in Taiwan, was formed through the weathering of the sandstone that lines the shore. The oxidation of iron ore within the striations of the stone has given it a beautiful striped pattern.
*Jinguashi 13 Ruins (Remains of the 13 Levels)
Following the Japanese surrender at the end of World War II and Taiwan’s restoration in 1945, Taiwan Gold and Copper Mining Bureau was established in 1946 to oversee the mining industry.Unfortunately, as gold deposits ran dry, the once lustrous gold industry went through a downturn and never really recovered. The newly renamed “Taiwan Metal Company” therefore shifted its focus to the burgeoning copper market, which later suffered a rapid crash as the cost of extraction and purification of copper became an infeasible burden.